• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
stlfbr1

Windows API

This topic is 3505 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey everyone! This is my first post here. Ive been reading the site for a while now and am ready to finally jump in and try my hand at game programming! Ive wanted to do this for a while but didnt have the time or the resources to do what i wanted, but now i do. For some background I have been programming for about 7 years now. I learned on C++, then went to college and learned Java, and now Im back to using C++, at least thats my current language of choice for game programming (unless someone has a reason for me to switch to Java?? haha) Anyway my current choices or at least how Im leaning is to use C++ and OpenGL (I would like to know anyones opinions on this decision. I went this way for efficiency and portability, but am wary that it may be over the top for one person??) But what Im lacking is Windows API knowledge. I saw a few books in teh books section on the Win32 API taht got great reviews. My first question is that these seem to be from 1998 or 1999. Ive gotten a game programming book once before and the technology was different enough to make it very difficult to learn new things while constantly trying to convert the book to modern code. I was wondreing if the Win32 API is like this? Should i be concerned with the date it was published or hasn't much changed? And finally, am I placing too much emphasis on the windows programming part or is it as important as I feel it is now? (I know i mentioned portability and im asking about windows programming, but you gotta start somewhere!) Thanks to everyone on this site, its been a huge help!!

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by stlfbr1