• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Free and easy to use 2D game engine?

This topic is 3315 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Can anyone help me find an easy to use 2D game engine? I'm fairly new to game programming in C++, with prior experience in vb.NET. I would prefer that the engine does not support DirectX, I want to learn how to program with something simple first. Thanks in advance!

Advertisement
I've heard that Blitz2d is a pretty easy to start programming tool. I'm looking toward using that too, but I am not too sure how complicated your games can be when it comes to complexity of gameplay elements. However, I am sure if you want to make a 2d perspective game with pretty basic "Mario" style gameplay, it will probably do the trick.

I'm no pro programmer or anything, I've got little to no experience in programming, but thought I would let you know what I've heard.

indielib is probably what you are looking for but it uses directx. As an alternative you could use sdl which is good enough for 2d.

Okay. Thanks. I took a look at it. I think it uses directx, or is just directx compatible. Indielib I don't think will work. SDL, however, looks promising.

I was look for more of a framework in native Windows code, something like the sources out of "Sam's Learn Game Programming In 24 Hours". The sources from that book used only native windows code and custom built classes along with it's own custom built game engine.

Problem is, I can't find the source anywhere, and I don't have the book nor the means to get it.

Mine ? :)

Seriously, it's still under heavy development, but you can make some little nice games. On my codeplex space, you can download a little platform game to have a look at.

If you have ideas to improve the engine, just drop a line...

I would suggest HGE. Very easy to use for a 2D game with C++!