Shadow map artifact

Started by
7 comments, last by TwistedPix 15 years, 3 months ago
Hello Everyone I'm new to shadow mapping so i've created a shadow mapping demo to learn more and it seems it works well except when i move the light near objects in the scene. I'm using one 1024*1024 shadow map and using

D3DXMatrixLookAtLH( &ViewMat, &mSunPos, &D3DXVECTOR3(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f), 
						&D3DXVECTOR3(0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f) );

D3DXMatrixPerspectiveFovLH( &ProjMat, D3DX_PI / 2.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f, 200.0f );

to get the light View Projection matrix. Here is the screen shot when light is not near the object: Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us And when it's near the statue: Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us Am i missing something? Thanks.
[Blog]
Advertisement
I think maybe it's because of using one depth texture instead of cube map but from what i got from the theory it should work with the scene in the demo.

Anyone?

Thanks in advance for your replies.
[Blog]
Not too much to go on here, but it looks like your light frustum is too small (not big enough to cover the entire visible scene when you move it close up to the scene). Effectively it means the part of the scene that is wrongly fully shadowed is outside of the area of your projected SM.

Ideally for best results you need to recompute your light matrices every frame to make sure the light frustum is large enough to cover everything in your view frustum you want shadowed in your scene.

(if all you want to do is hide the issue asap your can add some code to your pixel shader that just sets the fragment to be fully unshadowed when the projected shadow map texture coords are out of range)
Seems logical but i can't set the frustum wider than PI/2 ( the scene goes completely shadowed )

How can i compute the lights projection matrix based on scene information?

Anyway Thanks. :)
[Blog]
Lookup how the perspective matrix is defined component wise

you can create your own one with simple trigonemetry