• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Catkill

Taking the next step quick ways

This topic is 3563 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey im fairly new at C++ i know most of the basics (classes, structurs , arrays, variable type, pointers references...etc etc) But now ive been "recruited" to make a very simple yet educational game for a competition, after saying yes i realised i can only make graphic-less console apps , the game is aimed at Primary school kids about 5, 6 , 7 hears old (no colours = bad ) what is the fastest and easiest way to take the step into Win32 programming , and any good tutorials , i have a few books but they seem to focus more on physics and Ai than graphics THEN physics an ai dont say its impossible where theres a will theres a away(think of the children) preferred language is C++ rather than getting game maker suggestion - i used game maker when i was about 8 it was good im not dissing it. Hope you understand that Cheers Catkill

Advertisement
Well if you would like to do some grpahics i think your best bet considering your level of abilaty i would suggest looking up SDL its a simple graphics lib and is relativly easy tp use.

just google it there are a few good tutorials out there.

Good luck

Regards Jouei

I suggest you go for SDL. It's a simple library that provides you with almost everything you need to program a simple 2D game. It's quite easy to use, and it has many extension libraries. Lazy Foo has great tutorials for installing and using SDL.