• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
RexHunter99

OpenGL 16 bit Texture loading

This topic is 3536 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Okay, I'm new to gamedev.net, but not a n00b. I've been working on a tool that loads a model format used by a game I like. And the format also contains a 16-bit TGA image as the texture. I've extracted the texture and saved it externally (Also in memory) but I can't bind it to a texture in OpenGL. I can bind the 24/32 bit images so I made a few temporary ones in the place of the 16-bit. But since the model format only supports 16-bit TGA... I'm rather stuck. I googled around for an answer and found little that helped me out. There were bogus examples claiming you could load the data with GL_RGB5... but they failed. My data is composed of 2 byte values in place of the standard 3 bytes (RGB). For example: My first pixel in the 24-bit TGA is 16,16,0 (RGB) where as the 16-bit is composed of 64,8 as the bytes. I first thought about attempting to load it as a 16-bit, but I can't get OpenGL to load it. Next I tried converting the pixels manually and loading the data as a 24-bit image... but none of the bitshifts I tried worked (I've never been good with bits) Supposedly, the format is: byte1 = ARRRRRGG byte2 = GGGBBBBB but due to lo-hi (or was it hi-lo?) the second byte comes first (GGGBBBB then ARRRRRGG) I know it's not the API itself and it's me doing the wrong... but I can't figure it out. Help would be greatly appreciated here :) If this has been answered before, please link me to it (or possibly dumb it down or give me a solution that doesn't force me to read for a few weeks and try to learn bits, which I simply do not understand) Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
Try this:

glTexImage2D( GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB5_A1, width, height, 0, GL_RGBA, GL_UNSIGNED_SHORT_5_5_5_1, data );