Sign in to follow this  
l jsym l

Total Beginners C++ Game Programming Books?!?

Hey, just wondering if anyone knew of any good "Beginners" books for C++ programming. I have recently bought 3 books just trying to figure it out but they all seemed to start like I already knew something. Remember, I'm a total beginner with no experience at all. I love video game and have always wanted to be a part of making them. If anyone has any idea what-so-ever about any total beginner c++ game programming books please let me know. I'll be checking this thread regularly. P.S. I even bought the C++ Primer book that it shows on this website, but it seems like I should already know something about programming?... Please just let me know if you have any suggestions. Thank You, l jsym l

I'm not sure about any books, but there are numerous online tutorials that can help you learn C++, even if you have no previous experience in any other language at all. As for learning game-specific programming, I'd suggest you get the basics down first and make sure you are comfortable with C++ before beginning.

My favorite tutorials are at:
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/ (Very well-written basic C++ tutorial)
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/beginner/bb964629.aspx (Shows you how to set up Microsoft Visual C++ 2008)
http://www.fredosaurus.com/notes-cpp/index.html (Covers more advanced topics)

C++ Primer Plus.

Not a game book. But a very good beginners C++ book, which gives you a very solid foundation.

EDIT : If that is the book you already bought and you are having problems then you perhaps we need to look for something more generic, and you need to have a look at Visual Basic.. C++ Primer Plus if you read it from the beginning properly, and don't skip, should really be ok.

For the basics of C++, I doubt you can do much better than C++: The Complete Reference, by Herbert Schildt. I believe the man is held in high regard.