• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
wacaine

OpenGL How do I draw a different texture on each side of a Cube?

This topic is 3468 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am pretty new to OpenGL I have a cube and have a texture on it. The problem is i want a different texture per side. Can this be done. if so how? I only need a snippet of code applying 2 textures to two sides, i can expand it from there. this sounds like my issue but I would like sample program to go off of. http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=519151 here is the code that does it for all sides int[] tmp_tex = new int[1]; gl.glGenTextures(1, tmp_tex, 0); int tex = tmp_tex[0]; gl.glBindTexture(GL10.GL_TEXTURE_2D, tex); gl.glTexImage2D(GL10.GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL10.GL_RGBA, bmp.getWidth(), bmp.getHeight(), 0, GL10.GL_RGBA, GL10.GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, bb); gl.glTexParameterf(GL10.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL10.GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL10.GL_LINEAR); gl.glTexParameterf(GL10.GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL10.GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL10.GL_LINEAR); gl.glColor4f(1.0f, 1, 1, 1.0f); gl.glNormal3f(0,0,1); gl.glDrawArrays(GL10.GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP, 0, 4); gl.glNormal3f(0,0,-1); gl.glDrawArrays(GL10.GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP, 4, 4); gl.glColor4f(1, 1.0f, 1, 1.0f); gl.glNormal3f(-1,0,0); gl.glDrawArrays(GL10.GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP, 8, 4); gl.glNormal3f(1,0,0); gl.glDrawArrays(GL10.GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP, 12, 4); gl.glColor4f(1, 1, 1.0f, 1.0f); gl.glNormal3f(0,1,0); gl.glDrawArrays(GL10.GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP, 16, 4); gl.glNormal3f(0,-1,0); gl.glDrawArrays(GL10.GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP, 20, 4); [Edited by - wacaine on January 21, 2009 10:32:25 AM]

Advertisement

// say we have an array of bmps: "bmps[6]"
// and their data "bbs[6]"
int[] tmp_tex = new int[6];

gl.glGenTextures(6, tmp_tex);
for(unsigned int i = 0; i < 6; ++i)
{
gl.glBindTexture(GL10.GL_TEXTURE_2D, tmp_tex);