• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
brekehan

Help with error messages

This topic is 3590 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I finished alot of reorganization of my engine and as I expected nothing was displayed on the first run. Well, I stepped through all the code in the application. Made a checklist of all the steps and everything looks OK. So, second step was to crank up PIX and see what's going on in my shaders. Keep in mind I am very new at using PIX. I captured a frame, selected the draw call: 1) pull up the render view - blank. 2) pull up the mesh view - both pre and post vs have something displayed, but nothing in the viewport. 3) pull up output log - there are 2 errors that I do not understand! Render|Debugger D3D10: ERROR: ID3D10Device::DrawIndexed: The resource return type for component 0 declared in the shader code (FLOAT) is not compatible with the resource type bound to slot 0 of the Pixel Shader unit (UINT). [ EXECUTION ERROR #361: DEVICE_DRAW_RESOURCE_RETURN_TYPE_MISMATCH ] Render|Debugger D3D10: ERROR: ID3D10Device::DrawIndexed: The Shader Resource View in slot 0 of the Pixel Shader unit is using the Format (R32G32B32A32_UINT). This format does not support 'Sample', 'SampleLevel', 'SampleBias' or 'SampleGrad', at least one of which is being used on the Resource by the shader. [ EXECUTION ERROR #371: DEVICE_DRAW_RESOURCE_FORMAT_SAMPLE_UNSUPPORTED ] Well this leads me to believe there is something wrong with my pixel shader. I do not know what component 0 is or how to change the format of the pixel shader. In case something obvious is in my HLSL, please point it out for me. Other ideas are also appreciated.
//--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
// File: default.fx
//
//--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------