• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
movesax

OpenGL glOrtho z-clipping planes

This topic is 3494 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First time post here and I'm a beginner with OpenGL. I've also searched around quite a bit to try to find some help. I set: glOrtho(-1.0,1.0, -1.0, 1.0, -100.0, 100.0); So, I glLoadIdentity then draw a Wireframe model. then I glTranslate to (0,0,1) and draw a coordinate system. then I glTranslate to (0,0,4) to look at everything. Everything looks and behaves just fine. I then decide I want to clip the far half of my wireframe model... because it's kinda confusing having it there. I have the bright idea of moving the back half of my clipping plane forward to just clip that out. Well, I tried what I thought would work with glOrtho... it didn't. Then I tried all sorts of stuff... and nothing is behaving like I expected. Sometimes my z-coordinate even flips backwards (+z changes from out of the screen to into). Two Questions: 1) How can I complete my goal of clipping the back half of my wireframe model, while keeping my drawn coordinate axis in front? 2) What's going on here? How does glortho work?! Is it relative to the final 'camera position.' Is it relative to the origin as defined by glLoadIdentity. Does every glBegin()/glEnd() segment have it's own clipping box? thanks for your time :)

Advertisement
It's been a while since i played around with OpenGL but sounds like you want backface culling.
Did you enable backface culling and set it to CCW(counterclock-wise)or CW?

glOrtho sets up an orthogonal projection matrix, which would make the view frustum be relative to the final camera position.