• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

OpenGL flickering geometry

This topic is 3313 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi guys, i'm a beginner with OpenGL... i'm trying to draw a translucent rectangle on my terrain, but the rectangle keeps flickering on one of triangle. I have tried to render it as a triangle strip, but the problem still persist.. could some one please give me some pointers on how should i resolve the issue? following is the code that i wrote to render the rectangle.... glDisable(GL_TEXTURE_2D); glDisable(GL_LIGHTING); glDisable(GL_DEPTH_TEST); glDepthMask(GL_FALSE); glBlendFunc(GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA); glBegin(GL_TRIANGLE_STRIP); glColor4f(glowR, glowG, 0.0f, glowTransparency); glVertex3d(MAP_SIZE_X, 0, 0); glColor4f(glowR, glowG, 0.0f, glowTransparency); glVertex3d(0, 0, 0); glColor4f(glow2R, glow2G, 0.0f, glowTransparency); glVertex3d(MAP_SIZE_X, 0, MAP_SIZE_Z); glColor4f(glow2R, glow2G, 0.0f, glowTransparency); glVertex3d(0, 0, MAP_SIZE_Z); glEnd(); glDepthMask(GL_TRUE); glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST); glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D); glEnable(GL_LIGHTING); this is the main file, with the projection matrices, viewport and stuff... /** * Render the scene */ void RenderScene() { glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT | GL_STENCIL_BUFFER_BIT); //set projection matrix and view volume glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION); glLoadIdentity(); glOrtho (0,1024,0,768, -100, 0); glMultMatrixd(proj_homograph); glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW); glLoadIdentity(); //Reset modelview matrix for new frame. if(isCalibrationStarted()) { //calibrate the system calibrateSystem(); } else { glRotatef(Rotate, 0, 0, 1); if(locateShape) { generateTerrain(); } else { drawSun(); renderCalibration(); } renderTerrain(); //Draw translucent objects last if(!locateShape) { if(showTerrain) { renderWater(); renderEruption(); drawDawn(); } else