• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
-Dingo-

Allegro Question - Drawing During Button Press

This topic is 3495 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all, I'm still somewhat new to programming as a whole, but I have a decent grasp on a couple languages. Anyway, I've recently started looking into game programming again (now that I know more about programming) and have started making my own game using Allegro. Its a simple space shooting game kind of like Space Invaders or Galaga. Anyway, getting on to my problem. I tried to make it so the sprite for the bullet is created when you press the "Z" button.
/* bullet Creation and Movement Key Checks */   
           if(key[KEY_Z])
              draw_sprite(buffer, bullet, bullet_x_position, bullet_y_position);
              bullet_y_position ++;
However, it doesn't seem to work. Just looking at the code, it seems like it technically should work, but I'm guessing Allegro doesn't allow you to draw sprites during a button press like I'm trying to do. I'm sure there is a way to get this to work and if anyone could help me out I greatly appreciate it. Thank you in advance.

Advertisement
On a side note, you do know that if you don't include {} brackets after your if statement, only the next line is "inside" the if statement?

Completely forgot the brackets. I added them and I can now at least see that the bullet is being created, but it disappears shortly afterward. Any suggestions, or is there any other part of the code you may need to see?

Edit: I figured out why it disappears. It is only drawing and moving forward during the key press (gah I feel dumb now). However, is there a way around the image only drawing during the button press? I need it to only move forward constantly when the button is pressed just like other old arcade shooters.