• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
lanette

Comparing web programming language

This topic is 3583 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, im new to web programming, although im still learning C++.. Well, after a web search, i figured out there were a few of languages for web designing and development.. Such as: Perl, PHP, javascript, ActionScript, ASP, Ajax, HTML, XML, and many more.. So which one is more user-friendly? Or i should just learn flash with adobe software to develop website? Thanks for replying..

Advertisement
Quote:
Well, after a web search, i figured out there were a few of languages for web designing and development..

Such as: Perl, PHP, javascript, ActionScript, ASP, Ajax, HTML, XML, and many more..

So which one is more user-friendly?
So while you've managed to discover a list of terms, you haven't done enough research to understand what each actually is. Programming isn't like using a machine around the house. You don't deal with the concept of user friendliness. HTML is a markup language. You might find it really easy to use, but you can't program with it. You need a programming language for that. ASP.NET is a framework. It's not a language itself. So it's not like you assemble a list and pick one. They all have different roles. You need to recognize that.

If you're going to develop websites, start with HTML and CSS.

To develop a website, you'll need an array of languages:

You'll need HTML(it's not really a language, but you'll still need it) to do the basic layout and formatting. That's the first thing you should learn.

You'll need javascript, mostly for validating forms, though you can do some cool stuff with it.

You'll need a server-side language(I suggest PHP, but there are alternatives, like ASP or JSP) to manage data on the server - like the user base or updateable news system.