• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
hopital

Strong maths background a criteria?

This topic is 3489 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, I'm new to the world of programming. After browsing through guides and threads on this forum, I've realised that some guides require the reader to be proficient in maths in order to accomplish certain tasks. My question is, do I have to be really good at maths in order to become a game programmer? Situation now: I'm trying to pick up C and C++ at the moment, spurred on with my interest in games, and eventually I hope to be able to create a tetris-clone, and take on more complicated games like breakout, pac-man etc... as a hobby, or maybe even as a career one day? PS: Sorry if this post is in the wrong location, I'm not quite sure if it should be here or in the maths section!

Advertisement
Some basics in Vectors and Matrices won't do you any harm. I started with very little or no maths skills at all, and I'm doing fine. I have two full 3D engines under my belt and a deferred renderer on the way, along with various games and Unrealscript-based mods.

I just picked up what I needed along the way. one thing I will recommend highly, though, is "3D Math Primer for graphics and Games Development" by Dunn & Parberry, it'll be your lifesaver.

I've been programming for years and I'm now reaching the end of my final (3rd) year at university studying games programming. I've never had particularly good maths skills, in-fact I'm almost embarrassed about it. Essentially, as long as you have a good reference book (I second the one listed above, I bought it recently) you will get along just fine. Make sure you understand basic 2D/3D vector and matrix theory and you'll learn the rest through practice.

Quote:
Original post by hopital