• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Lordimm

Class Problem

This topic is 3556 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been trying to make a text-based RPG, and I've put in a class for items that you can use, and also made a class for healing items inherited from the item class. But for some reason, when I try to set values for different healing items (like for potions), it doesn't work. I'm still new to classes, so I might be overlooking something. Here's what I have: Database file:
// Includes all the items, scrolls, weapons, enemies, etc.

#include "Library.h"

// Make copies for each type of healing item

void Database()
{	
	HEAL bread;

void bread.SetHeal(int amount)
	{
		amount = 10;
	}
}

Not too big, I haven't put in all the items I want for now because I need to get this to work. The different objects also need a SetPrice function, and a SetName, but again, I need this to work first before I go on. Here's the C++ header file and cpp file for the item class. Header:

// Item class

class ITEM
{
public:
	char name[32];
	int price;
	char newName;

void SetName(char* newName);
	char* GetName();
	int GetPrice();
	void SetPrice(int amount);
};

class HEAL: public ITEM
{
public:
	int heal;

int GetHeal();
	void SetHeal(int amount);
};

The item cpp file:

#include "Library.h"

void ITEM::SetName(char* newName)
{
	strcpy_s(name, newName);
}

char* ITEM::GetName()
{
	return name;
}

int ITEM::GetPrice()
{
	return price;
}

void ITEM::SetPrice(int amount)
{
	price = amount;
}

int HEAL::GetHeal()
{
	return heal;
}

void HEAL::SetHeal(int amount)
{
	heal = amount;
}