• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
ratalert

sdl_audio: play five tones with exact duration

This topic is 3399 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi guys, I'm very new in programming with sdl and now I got a question. I'd like to play 5 tones of different frequencies (2000 - 2600 - 2400 - 1160 - 2600 Hz) each with an exact duration of 70ms. Currently my callback function that produces a tone looks like this: void play_tones(void* userdata, Uint8* stream, int len) { int i; int num_samples = len / 2; static int pos = 0; float buffer[BUFFER_SIZE]; Sint16 *dst_buf = (Sint16*) stream; for (i=0; i<num_samples ; ++i) buffer = sin(1160.0f*(i+pos)/(float)SAMPLING_RATE); // Clipping and conversion to Sint16 for (i=0; i<num_samples; ++i) { float v = buffer; if (v > 1.0f) v = 1.0f; else if (v< -1.0f) v = -1.0f; dst_buf = (Sint16)(32767.0f*v); } pos += num_samples; } BUFFER_SIZE is 1024 SAMPLING_RATE is 44100 I hope anybody can help me with that. Thanks a lot in advance. ratalert

Advertisement
Well. If I would do that, then I would pre-record these tones, then load them and play them. But it is heavy to get those tones probably. So sorry I don't got a good idea.

I can't record them before playing because the combination of tones in a serie differs every time.

for example once I'd like to play
2000 - 2600 - 2400 - 1160 - 2600 Hz
Next time
2200 - 1270 - 2400 - 1270 - 2600 Hz

The only thing which is not changing is every time five tones with a duration of 70ms.

Is there really no way?

I'm not familiar with sdl_audio... but isn't there sdl_mixer?