• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
FinalSmash

Pausing the console in C++?

This topic is 3491 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, new here but not exactly an absolute beginner. I have already taught myself all the basic keywords of the C and CPP language and i want to program in CPP and then to know Java. is there a better way to pause the console in CPP rather than calling system("PAUSE > NUL"); because i know that system() is a C function. how would i write this program truly in CPP?
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main(void)
{
	cout << "This message is 35 characters long." << endl;
	system("PAUSE > NUL");
	system("CLS");
	system("PAUSE");
	return 0;
}
Just an example. this program works, but I've heard system() is deprecated or something. Also what is the stuff inside the main() parenthesis, i know my programs work without the arguments but then what do they do? Final Question while I'm at it... does any1 have a "general purpose steps list" for making games, from conception to final product. what i mean is what are the steps that have to be completed to complete a project. I am often stuck on the conception stage for most of my ideas.

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by FinalSmash
is there a better way to pause the console in CPP rather than calling

system("PAUSE > NUL");

because i know that system() is a C function.

how would i write this program truly in CPP?

cin.get();

i know that function cin.get() "gets" un-formatted text from the the user and i know it effectively pauses the console, but isn't there a functiopn solely for pausing the console? or is that it?

EDIT: now my program exits or doesn't pause when i type something then hit enter. (i want the function to pause until any key press)

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main(void)
{