Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

dashworth

Beginner Question?

dashworth    122
I have been programming eCommerce for about 6 years now and have started learning Direct 3d (C++ for about 7 months). I have gone thru all 6 of the tutorials of the SDK and have looked up things I dont understand. I can do some basic things now like loading in .x files, create simple meshes, etc (Everything the tutorials teach you). I have begun "Beginning Direct3d", but some things I feel arent explained well enough for me to be comfortable with. i.e. Matrices, quaternions, fog, particles, etc. I know I have more of the book to read, but those topics dont seem to be in there at least in enough detail. I want to understand engine basics. Things like: How do i add physics to an environment? How do I find more about matrices? What are good techniques for lighting meshes? What are good techniques for fog? Good techniques for collision detection? Things on those lines. I dont think I''m at a stopping point now, and I know it''s going to take hours and hours of exploration and repetition, but any good resources to minimize that would be appreciated Web links, books, ebooks. I''ve learned the hard way that bad resources cost me hours upon hours of additional work trying to understand and use the topics being discussed. Good resources speed up the process tremendously. I appreciate in advance anyone who takes the time to answer this. Thanks, David Ashworth

Guest Anonymous Poster   
Guest Anonymous Poster
As far as collision detection goes, here are some links:

http://www.flipcode.com/tpractice/
http://nehe.gamedev.net/tutorials/lesson31.asp

NotTaxes    122
Started there and done that quite recently:-) good luck though, it''s a lot of fun and well worth it. I''ve been at it for about two months now and am starting to feel quite comfortable. For my two cents of help...