Sign in to follow this  

[DX10] Shader Help Needed! ( FIXED! )

This topic is 3199 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi! Okay, I'm starting to think I don't understand a darn thing about shaders. I've been trying for a while to create a general rendering framework for a game, and as part of that I'm studying the PostProcess sample from the DX SDK. ( November 2008, to be exact. ) But since my code is all DX10 based, I'm have some real trouble getting some of the functionality ported over. Specifically, I'm looking at the NormalEdgeDetect post process effect PostProcess SDK sample, and trying to replicate that. I'm rendering to three render targets, just like the DX9 sample, and my intermediate targets look the same as the sample. I've got the "regular" image, a render target with normal information, and a render target with position info. Just like the DX9 sample. All those images match the intermediate output of the sample. BUT...using what seems to be virtually the same shader code as the sample for my postprocess quad render, I get wildly different results. it's clearly SIMILAR to what I want, but something is also way off. I'm posting picture of the sample result, and MY result, to give an idea of what I'm seeing. I'm hoping someone can take a peek and have some idea what is going on. I'm more than willing to post all the code, but it's big, so hopefully someone can give me some idea where to start looking... Anyway, here is what the SDK sample gives, and what I WANT to see... Here is what my version is outputting: And here is the actual shader code, first from the SDK sample:
float4 PostProcessPS( float2 Tex : TEXCOORD0 ) : COLOR0
{
    float4 Orig = tex2D( g_samSrcNormal, Tex );

float4 Sum = 0;

for( int i = 0; i < 4; i++ )
        Sum += saturate( 1 - dot( Orig.xyz, tex2D( g_samSrcNormal, Tex + TexelKernel[i] ).xyz ) );