Sign in to follow this  

GraphicsStream behaves weird in XP, fine in Vista?

This topic is 3197 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Okay so I have a direct3d app in C# that uses very large textures (same size as the display) and they have to be updated every so often. So after bitblitting the new image into an Hbitmap, I pretty much said Bitmap Vis = Image.FromHbitmap(hBmp); _tex = new Texture(Device, Vis, Usage.Dynamic, Pool.Default); Which works, but takes about 1.4 seconds to complete. So after fiddling with it for a while (I'm just learning DirectX) I came up with the following algorithm, which takes about 90 ms to complete: //Get GDI+ bitmap from handle Bitmap Vis = Image.FromHbitmap(hBmp); //save to a memory stream MemoryStream bmp_stream = new MemoryStream(); Vis.Save(bmp_stream, ImageFormat.Bmp); //copy to byte array int bytes = (Screen.PrimaryScreen.Bounds.Width + 32) * Screen.PrimaryScreen.Bounds.Height * 4; byte[] buffer = new byte[bytes]; bmp_stream.Seek(0, SeekOrigin.Begin); bmp_stream.Read(buffer, 0, bytes); //write to graphicsstream GraphicsStream GS = _tex.LockRectangle(0, LockFlags.None); GS.Write(buffer, 54, bytes); //finish up _tex.UnlockRectangle(0); bmp_stream.Close(); Yes, that long series of copying and shuffling bytes around executes in much less time than the built-in new Texture() function or a TextureLoader (which takes about 450 ms). So first of all, if anyone knows of a better/faster way to copy an HBitmap to a Texture in C#, I'm all ears. That having been said, the problem I'm currently having is that this works fine on Vista, but when I tried it on an XP machine, the Textures are all garbled. Even working with the graphicsstream on my Vista machine, I had to make my bitmap 32 bytes wider because the Texture has 32 bytes of padding on each line (what this is for, I don't know). But on the XP machine