Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Long standing question using class objects.

This topic is 6010 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am not a total newbie, but I am sorta when it comes to classes. My dilemma I have always been curious about is a situation like this: If you have a enemy structure say and want 100 enemies in your game u typically do that like: typedef struct { int x; int y; ...etc.. } ENEMY ENEMY theEnemies[100]; But what about when you have an Enemy class how do you do 100 enemeies? Do you have methods to that class to the enemies class can handle its own data in a linked list or something? or do you really have to do this: CEnemy theEnemy1 CEnemy theEnemy2 CEnemy theEnemy3 ... CEnemy theEnemy100 That seems absurbed to me, but how do you know which enemy in a list of class enemies you are dealing with? Thanks for your help, I hope this post made some sense. Regards, Shane

You can do it the same way you do it with structs.

CEnemy theEnemy[100];
theEnemy[0].x = 50;
theEnemy[0].y =20;
etc.

~~~~~~~~~~
Martee

holy moly, i feel dumb. So you can really do it all the same way?

i.e.

CEnemy theEnemy[100];

theEnemy[0].RenderMe();
theEnemy[0].Collide(theEnemy[1].GetBoundRect());

etc...? thats pretty nifty, now I have no excuse for not using C++

Thanks a lot

Shane

Something to remember in C++: classes and structs are exactly the same, except for default access specifier. The default for class is private, and the default for struct is public. Other than that, they are identical; you can do with one what you can do with the other.

So in effect I could make a link list of classes etc...