• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ryan King

Beginner's question regarding Python resources

This topic is 3406 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Let me be clear that I am a complete beginner. In the small handful of languages I've had any experience at all with, I'd only barely moved beyond 'Hello World'ing (and I'm sure to the more experienced, my progress was slight enough it might not be counted at all), and even that experience was about a year ago. I understand that a beginner's choice of language, while not inconsequential, is less important than the act of choosing one and following through with learning it. Currently, I have the time and the desire to do just that, and from what I've read, Python sounds most appealing to me. My question is regarding resources to learn from. I have Hetland's "Beginning Python, From Novice to Professional" from my brief experience with the language a year ago, and I'm wondering if the book is on the whole outdated (and if it is or was a good resource besides). I understand that Python 3.0 has been released between then and now, and I don't want to try to learn with a book that is incompatible with the language's most current release. Neither does it seem prudent to commit myself to learning an older version of the language (but who knows, I may be wrong). There is a second edition of this book out now that is supposed to cover 3.0, but just glancing at the first chapter, it still seems incompatible. With 'print' being changed from a statement to a function, for example, even the first, uber-beginner "Hello World!" code in the allegedly compatible book fails. It's not hard to work around, of course, but it just looks bad to me when the most beginning of beginner examples doesn't work. So is this an early warning of an incompatible book, or just an simple problem easily solved with