• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Gedden

Projecting a 2D ray to 3D space

This topic is 3409 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

(as a coder, I communicate better in code, im not saying "gimmie code", its just literally easier for me to communicate this way) The following code translates from 3D space to 2D, perfectly.
   matrix = projection_matrix.mul(model_view_matrix);

// Transform the vertex
   Vec4 result = new Vec4();
   Vec4 input  = new Vec4(v.x, v.y, v.z, 1.0f);

result.x = Math3D.dot(matrix.getRow(0),input);
   result.y = Math3D.dot(matrix.getRow(1),input);
   result.z = Math3D.dot(matrix.getRow(2),input);
   result.w = Math3D.dot(matrix.getRow(3),input);

double rhw = 1 / result.w;
   double resultx = (1 + result.x * rhw) * viewport[2] / 2 + viewport[0];
   double resulty = (1 - result.y * rhw) * viewport[3] / 2 + viewport[1];
   double resultz = (result.z * rhw) * (depthrange[1] - depthrange[0]) + depthrange[0];
what I need is the inverse of that function, a converter from 2D space to 3D space, this is what I have currently but it does not do the job...
   matrix = projection_matrix.mul(model_view_matrix);
   matrix.invert();

double resultx = ((2*(v.x-viewport[0])/viewport[2])-1)/v.w;
   double resulty = ((2*(v.y-viewport[1])/viewport[3])+1)/v.w;
   double resultz = ((v.z-depthrange[0])/(depthrange[1] - depthrange[0]))/v.w;  	    

// Transform the vertex
   Vec4 result = new Vec4();
   Vec4 input  = new Vec4(v.x, v.y, v.z, 1.0f);

result.x = Math3D.dot(matrix.getRow(0),input);
   result.y = Math3D.dot(matrix.getRow(1),input);
   result.z = Math3D.dot(matrix.getRow(2),input);
   result.w = Math3D.dot(matrix.getRow(3),input);
Any help in this regard would be appreciated

Advertisement
1) You can't rely on a projection matrix being invertible.