• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Sefiroth

getting started on old skool RPG

This topic is 3468 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

As a noob, let me introduce myself, I'm Stijn and in real life I'm already involved in game developement but from the artistic side. However I'm a 3D artist, I would like to create a good, old faschioned 2D top view RPG as a spare time, long term project. Ofcourse I will use my 3D skills for the creation of some parts for the game, but all 3D will be reduced to 2D anyway. So I dont need a very complex high end 3D game engine to create what I want. I looked on the internet and searched around to find out whats already available. Something like RPG maker VX is easy to work with, but it misses a few thing. So I would rather create my own program and engine that has the abilities to do what I want. I dont consider a language like C or C++ necessary for the develepment of it or am I mistaken? Are there software languages that are faster/easier to start with to create a 2D developing tool en engine? thanks, Stijn

Advertisement
Both python and C# are popular recommendations
for beginners to start with and covers your
needs in this case.

I've been looking around in Python for the last two days and I must admit that it looks like something useful for what I have in mind.
However, when looking for tutorials, they all go over the code, and tutorials for pygame handle the code for game related stuff. But one of the crucial items for me would be the tools that I want to develop to create the game world. And I'm not sure if Python is the right tool for that.
What that tools needs to be is an executable that works on its own where the world can be designed or adjusted, characters get there settings or can be added, and all the actions can be defined.