• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Noob Requires Advice

This topic is 3319 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Greetings: I've been a professional developer now for 8 years. I started in VB.Net and recently switched to C# (totally love C#). I work in VS 2008 and I've written several accounting programs that track funds for a University. I'm still mystified that I get paid to do that, btw. I have no trouble whipping together a class that represents a client, or a charge, or a payment - typical accounting stuff. I was thinking about classes, encapsulation, object oriented programming and all that nonsense and I began to wonder what a small golden idol buried in the sand would look like as an object. I began to wonder what a monster would look like, and what an attack object would look like, and what would happen when an OnSlayed event was fired. I really love isometric games(1) and I'd like to learn to write one in C#. While I'm familar with how to approach many other programming tasks this particular task leaves me with no ideas. An isometric game engine is not something I get many requests for these days. I'd like to jump in and learn game development. I think I'll be using DirectX and C#. (Advise away, if you please). I've read the threads on langauge selection - I don't see myself as a professional game developer so C# will serve me just fine. (Game development is tough stuff and it should sharpen up my C# skills) Does anyone have any good absolutely beginner books (or resources) they'd recommend? I'd love to find a tutorial on building an isometric game engine or a really good book on DirectX game development. I poked around at Amazon.com but some of the books are for DirectX 7.0 and DirectX 8.0 and I don't know if those would be good choices or not. So, what I'd like: 1: Advice about DirectX versions (would a book usi