• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
agashka

Unity Turn-Based strategy game - need some help

This topic is 3312 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, my name is Vincent, and I've been learning C++ on/off for the lasts 3 years. I'm getting really comfortable with OOP now, but still have problems with advanced use of pointers. Here a link to the previous thread: http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=509499 I'm doing this project to learn more about c++, even if it's not going far, I'd have learned something :) I'm still working on that game, and so far, it's going REALLY good, I've got alot of stuff coded up, except some advanced algorithms (like pathfinding) I've been working really hard lately to understand A*, I believe I now understand the basics of it, and I'm able to adapt it to my needs; witch are; when I click a unit, I need to calculate the movements it can do (cost to get to X tile) I've achieved it coding it from 0, and I'm sort of proud, but I'm using vectors and others stuff, that I think, needs optimizing. http://pastebin.com/m6b3926ce Right, so this so far, is all what I got to find accessible tiles. The code is not so well documented, but I think it's pretty straightforward? Can anyone tell me what would need to be optimized in that? Thanks for any help, -Vincent edit: yes this still need some works because of the vectors of pointers, the node are not deleted, but I think vectors aren't even well suited for this..

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by agashka
Hi, my name is Vincent, and I've been learning C++ on/off for the lasts 3 years.
I'm getting really comfortable with OOP now, but still have problems with advanced use of pointers.

Ah, it's been a while. ;)

Quote: