• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
CyberSlag5k

Is C++ dominant in tools development, too?

This topic is 3407 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've always thought that C# would be a better platform for tools development (in general) than C++, because of its ease of use and the incredible leverage of the .Net framework. Yet I still see many Tools Developer positions requiring C++ experience. I have a lot of experience with both languages, so it's not that big of a deal, but if both languages fit, I'd much rather work in C# than C++. So this leads me to consider a few possibilities: 1. Performance matters. The biggest reason I think someone would choose C++ over a higher level language would be performance. When I think of "tools", I generally think of things like level editors, management utilities, code generators, and data converters. Maybe I'm wrong about that. What sorts of tools does game development employ? Perhaps level editors are the big one, and you want a run-time designer that uses the same renderer as the game, so having the two built with the same language makes that possible/easier. 2. Platform matters. This one I don't think is very likely, but again, maybe I'm wrong. I'm under the impression that most studios develop in windows, running Visual Studio. Maybe a good number run linux and Mono doesn't work for whatever reason (I don't know that much about it). 3. Tools developers don't always stay tools developers. Most games are written in C++, and I could definitely see wanting your tools developers to pitch in on the game itself, or even to move them off of tools development entirely. You'd definitely want someone with C++ knowledge in this case, but if that were so I think you'd see "knowledge of C++ and C#", assuming tools development weren't limited to C++, which now thinking it often is. 4. Studios wa