Sign in to follow this  
bpoint

[C++] resolving collisions with hash_map

bpoint    464
This is my first time working with stdext::hash_map, so please be gentle. :) Basically, I'm writing some code to remove duplicate vertices from a vertex buffer. Before adding a vertex to the buffer, I first check to see if it exists in the hash_map or not:
int MyIndexer::locateVertex(const MyVec &vec)
{
	// locate the vertex in our hash map
	stdext::hash_map<MyVec, int>::iterator iter = mVertexMap.find(vec);

// if iterator points to end of map, then the vertex was not found
	if (iter == mVertexMap.end())
		return INDEX_NOT_FOUND;

// check if returned index matches the data we are looking for
	if (mVtxBuf[iter->second] != vec)
	{
		LOG("hash map collision");

// ...add resolve code here...
	}

// return index to vertex
	return iter->second;
}
The hash function I'm using to process the actual vertex data uses stdext::_Hash_value() -- the same function used for hashing strings. It seems to do quite a good job, considering one data set I'm dealing with which has 5.9 million vertices only came up with 137 collisions. Now, to my actual question: how do I actually resolve a collision? I thought that perhaps the iterator returned by find() would give me a set of pairs that all had the same key, but that didn't seem to be it. At worst case, I could simply do a linear search through the entire vertex buffer from start to end -- and with that only happening 137 times, it doesn't seem like it would be too bad -- but I'm sure there has to a proper way of doing it. I've scoured Google, read through the (poor) MSDN documentation, and searched GameDev's forums as much as I could, but I simply cannot figure out what to do from here. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

bubu LV    1436
find() gives you iterator to exactly your element (or end() if none is found). Collisions are already resolved inside find.