Sign in to follow this  
kinks

3D Engines - Where to start?

I'm a programmer who is currently in University, studying both Computer Science and Math. I have several years of experience programming in several languages (C, C++, Java, Scheme, etc.), and I enjoy math. At first, I thought I wanted to create games themselves - but I've come to realize my true interest (seems) to be in actually creating 3D game engines to handle 3D rendering, physics, and the like. It seems I am more interested in creating the 'toolkits' that one might use to create a game, or any sort of 3D virtual environment (even artwork) than games themselves. Whether or not I'll lean more towards the gaming aspect is yet to be decided. What I'm very lost about, is how I should start working toward the goal of working professionally in such a field. At the moment I plan to focus on the following topics in University: Linear Algebra Discrete Math OS Programming / Compilers Human-Computer Interaction (rather vague.. but I'd say it sounds relevant) Graphics Rendering Basic Physics AI I imagine to start, I should worry about doing all of the things a 3D game engine does.. but in 2D. My biggest problem is in coming up with practical projects (ie. ones I can actually finish on my own), and finding open source projects to join. Aside from that, I'm simply asking for any sort of guidelines, resources, or other suggestions anyone might have to help me reach (or even further realize) my goals. For example, any subjects to focus on beyond those I've included (and what their application is) would be appreciated. Thanks.