Sign in to follow this  
DangerousPerson

Advice on making very simple games

Hi, I was looking for advice on how to make some very simple games, preferably ones that could be played online (though this isn't 100% necessary). I'm a webmaster at an online community of Herbie the Love Bug fans, and would love to add a few very simple games to the site. A maze, for example, would be just fine. Or a character creator in which you could select features to add to Herbie would be entertaining. Simple stuff I'm guessing, but I've never made a game before. I did take a C++ class in highschool (years ago), but am still probably more a fetus than an infant. I really just want to ask how possible you guys think this would be, how much time I might expect to have in it, etc. I was hoping to find a game making program that maybe has templates, etc. that can get me started, and I can already tell that this community is probably not going to point me in that direction. Any advice would be appreciated, thanks much! Dan

KodeNerd    106
C++ isn't the only language that you can use. You can actually (with some time) create such games using your current knowlege (since I'm assuming some sort of knowlege of javascript, HTML, and possibly PHP). You could learn another language, but in my own personal opinion, you would probably be best off using the resources you hve to create something like that.

As for how possible it is, yes it's possible. How long, that's not something that anyone can pinpoit; there are so many ways to do things and so many things you could do that it could range from five minutes to infitititiy.

Gamemaker (if I recall correctly that's what it's called) is quite nice if you don't want to go the web application route that I described slightly. It would probably be the easiest for you to get into and is low cost last time I checked.

And don't take any assumptions about this community, you know what they say about that...

lightbringer    1070