• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Timptation

general shader question

This topic is 3326 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new to shaders and am just curious about how many shaders are used per game in general. For example, I have a basic vertex shader that works with position, normal, and UV elements. This however, does not play nice with my previously lit terrain, having only position and UV elements. I'll need another shader that doesn't expect normals. Although I'm sure its something to avoid, is switching shaders a large amount of overhead? Are there any suggested links/books on the matter?

Advertisement
I am not sure if I catch your question

but if you just want current shader not dealing with NORMAL ok, just neglect it, or give some default value to it, it's totally OK, no need to write another shader.

As your title , I don't quite follow that, I think there are types of shader. as to the number I think each type one,

This is a common problem. The perpetuation of different shader states, materials, lighting conditions, etc. can lead to a massive combinatorial explosion of shaders.

Having lots of different shaders makes for efficient shader code, but is a massive pain to manage and maintain. If you don't have a lot of different shaders, it's probably fine. If you need to deal with hundreds of slightly different shaders to cope with every different condition, then you should look towards a different solution.

A common method is called the "uber shader" approach - dump everything into one massive ("uber") shader and switch features on/off at runtime. It means your shaders aren't as hard to manage, but it sacrifices runtime performance.