• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
brekehan

texture coords - want to clamp but can't

This topic is 3319 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I can see a bit of tearing every now and again in my background. I know when people do a skybox, they usually clamp the tex coords to eliminate tearing. My understanding of clamping is that the texture coords have to be between 0 and 1. Currently, my background is a sphere, split into 4 parts. Each part has 1 texture mapped to it. I did this because A) the game art I am using came that way and B) it provides more detail. The kicker is that these texture have been scaled * 3 in order to tile them. So, I don't think I can use a clamped addressing mode will work. What to do?

Advertisement
Hi,

Correct me if I understand wrong:
You have a sphere and a 6-face texture (maybe a cube texture) and you want to render your it like a sky-sphere?

If it's you want to do, I can give my sky-sphere render code.

Quote:
Original post by programci_84
Hi,

Correct me if I understand wrong:
You have a sphere and a 6-face texture (maybe a cube texture) and you want to render your it like a sky-sphere?

If it's you want to do, I can give my sky-sphere render code.

Nah.
I have a sphere that is split into quarters.
The top hemisphere and lower, then split those into right and left.
Each quarter is textured with 1 texture.

The textureing is fine, I just can't clamp, because the texture is tiled 3 times on each quarter.

If I understand you right, you could just clamp your texture coordinate from 0 to 3 in u direction and 0 to 1 in v direction... that should give you the texture three time repeated around each quarter of the sphere...

Sign in to follow this  

• Advertisement

Important Information

By using GameDev.net, you agree to our community Guidelines, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.