• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
garma83

Rendering extremely high resolution images

This topic is 3316 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there! I'm fairly new to directx and I feel I'm catching up quite nicely, but if I say something stupid feel free to correct. I'm writing in managed directx, I hope that is ok. I made an application that will generate images that will eventually be used in print. it has a low-res but realtime preview screen, and pressing the "export" button generates the high-res equivalent. Currently how I do this, is that the preview screen is setup as usual (windowed directx), and when the export is made I switch the rendertarget to a Surface, render a frame, and stream the Surface to a c#-bitmap. This works fine, but only if the surface is not too large (e.g. it fits in video memory). This means I cannot generate images larger that say 4000x4000. Now what I tried was to put the surface not in the default memory pool, but for example on a scratch disk. This will be much slower, but it wouldn't matter because its just one frame. However, I cannot find out how to do this. 2 problems: - I used device.CreateRenderTarget to generate the surface, but it doesn't give me a way to set the memory pool. I can't find suitable properties in Device either - I found device.CreateOffscreenPlainSurface, which seems to do what I want, and I can specify the memory pool, but it generates a surface that is not accepted by the device.SetRenderTarget function (InvalidCallException). Any help is welcome. Am I in the right direction here? Thanks!!

Advertisement
Couldn't you just split the frame into sections and then render each section in sequence and just stitch it back together at the end?