• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Rohithzhere

Issues using WaitForSingleObject

This topic is 3320 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, I am a little new to MFC .I am ok at C++ though i am not yet strong in concepts like threading ,crictical section et al . I am now working on a project which contains a lot of MFC code written by someone else. I ported that code to a machine which had a dual core processor and now, most of the times one of the application's threads stops responding. I did dig down the code and found out the a function named WaitForSingleObject is not returning any value(Sometimes it works fine though) . But in the other machine which had a single core this code used to work fine. I am not able to understand as to why this is happening. Can any1 kindly give me some guidance regarding this issue. Also to make things clearer, I am using VC 6.0 Thanks and Regards, Rohith H N

Advertisement
By "WaitForSingleObject is not returning any value", I guess you mean it hangs there.Is there a timeout interval given for the second parameter of WaitForSingleObject? If it is INFINITE as MSDN says it will wait forever until the object is signaled.

More info on WaitForSingleObject

Quote:
Original post by Rohithzhere
Hi all,

I am a little new to MFC .I am ok at C++ though i am not yet strong in concepts like threading ,crictical section et al . I am now working on a project which contains a lot of MFC code written by someone else.