• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
NovaBlack

Racing Game AI (Crash course! - excuse the bad joke)

This topic is 3495 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi guys!! Once again i am here to draw upon the infinite wistom that is the GameDev Community! Basically im trying to educate myself (in a period of around 10 days) in the fundamentals of racing game AI. i.e. bread and butter techniques, perhaps with a few tasty sprinkles scattered liberally over the top! I finished my degree this week (finally!) and start my job very soon, and was looking to ensure im down with the lingo when i get into the role. Anywho, i am already planning to read through the usual suspects (AI Wisdom 1 - 4 are lined up and ready!) (Interesting article in AI Wis 3 on adaptive PID steering controllers), and programming game ai by example has a nice section on steering behaviours. Anyhow, any input to keep me on the best racing line would be appreciated (its early.. im tired.. yes i make bad jokes), wether that be interesting article suggestions, book suggestions, names of commonly used techniques etc. Thanks guys (and gals) as always!

Advertisement
* largest curve to fit within the turn is approximate the best line
* prefer a straighter exit line than straighter entering line
* being parallel to the line is aproximately good enough (dont need to be ON the line)
* the PID input should be forecasted based on speed.
* your speed should be based on curve radius and turn holding ability
* watch a ton of videos:
">Figure 8 racing
* an occupancy grid along the road may be used to create a virtual roadway, within which you can create your racing line to navigate through opponents.

But hey i didnt get hired for the last vehicle ai job i applied to, so i'm not gonna put much effort into this post. (out of spite :P)