Sign in to follow this  
Jaykumar

windows programming basics

Hi i'm new to window app programming. i started off with the book "Tricks of the windows game programming by Andre Lamothe" suggested at the resources section of gamedev. I started off with the simplest code.. the msg box code.... the author has used the windows.h and windowsx.h header files.. im using the Microsoft Visual C++ 6 Enterprise edition.. but when i compile the code it returns an error.. however if i select a win32 app project.. it automatically includes the stdafx.h header and the msg box code works.. I get confused between these header files... I kn it is stupid askin this.. but pls.. i need help.. Cheers

Quote:
Original post by Jaykumar
im using the Microsoft Visual C++ 6 Enterprise edition..

;____;

You should do everything in your power to release yourself from something so terrible; do yourself a favor and use Microsoft Visual Studio 2008 Express instead.

Quote:
but when i compile the code it returns an error..

What kind of error do you get?

Quote:
however if i select a win32 app project.. it automatically includes the stdafx.h header and the msg box code works..

There's some header in stdafx.h or some project setting that's allowing your code to compile or run, depending on what problem you're having.

My first guess is that its a const char* to LPCWSTR conversion error; if that's the case, you should change "Character set" in the project properties from "Use Unicode Character Set" to "None", or prefix all constant strings with L and use wchar_t instead of char. However, I'm not sure how Visual Studio 6 handles the default project properties since it's incredibly ancient and broken.

There are two types of C++ programs you can create. Console applications (black window with white text) or a windows application (GUI elements). Depending on which you have chosen you may get compiler errors if you declare your main function incorrectly.