Sign in to follow this  
Sprugles555

Beginning in Programming

Hey guys, I found this forum and thought it was a great community for someone starting out in programming. Basically, I've always been interested in playing games, and not long ago i started my GCSE coursework and began to think, "What would it be like to make a game?" My favourite type of game has to be MORPG's like WOW and 9 Dragons and have always aspired to make one. I know that I'm not going to make that Infamous game anytime soon and am willing to spend years learning to how to programme games. As I said I started my GCSE courses a month ago and really am interested in adding to my knowledge. But my main question is, "I am completely new to the programmin scene, I have messed about with a few cheap and easy game engines like FPS Creator X10 and RPG Maker. But how should i start off programming? Whats the best and easiest language to learn first? How are proffessional games made? And how long will it take me to learn to programme like the pro's? I have alot of time on my hands and am planning to go to university to do a Game Programming Course..." If you could help me that would be really appreciated. How should I start off is really what I would like to know. Thanks in Advanced Me :) (sorry about the long paragraph xD)

Quote:

"I am completely new to the programmin scene, I have messed about with a few cheap and easy game engines like FPS Creator X10 and RPG Maker. But how should i start off programming? Whats the best and easiest language to learn first?

There's really no "best" or "easiest" language, overall. However, Python is usually an excellent place to get your feet wet. The only caveat to be aware of right now is that you likely want the 2.6.x version of Python, not the latest bleeding edge 3.0 version -- the latter version changes things a fair bit, but most documentation and most of the libraries you'll want to use aren't really updated for 3.0, so you may end up confused.

Quote: