Sign in to follow this  
TiagoCT

[HELP] Cpp Book Recommendation

Dear C++ Programmers, I'm not new to programming. In fact, everything began 3 years ago on my TI-84. Since then, I've learned Matlab last year only for College, and besides being powerful, it's also too simple. I would now like to evolve. I have to do it on my own, since I'll only be learning C++ 2 year from now and I really don't want to wait that long. So, I began searching for a good book and found this one: C++ Without Fear. People's comments were good and stuff so I decided to order it. Unfortunately, the book is for the absolute beginner, so it doesn't cover Advanced Topics and may be a bit boring to read. What I ask from you is a recommendation: I want to read the book I ordered. What I would like to do now is to order a second one that does cover those advanced topics. If it ONLY covers advanced topics, even better. What I want for the book is: 1. GUI Programming; 2. Game Programming and Graphics; 3. Hardware Control and Programming (robotics); Would you please advise me a good book that covers advanced topics and specially these mentioned topics? Thank you in Advanced, Best Regards, Tiago

books about how to learn C++ you can basicly choose, c'se in beginners view there are all the same :)

books I believe every C++ programmer should have :
* The C++ Standard Library: A Tutorial and Reference : a brilliant books about the C++ STL but not recommended to learn from (extreme detailed). more as reference.

* C++ Coding Standards: 101 Rules, Guidelines, and Best Practices : a book with rules about C++/STL , doesn't learn you C++ but improves you C++ .
this is part of the C++ In-Depth Series, a extreme good collection :)

* Programming Windows (Fifth Edition) : teaches you how to program in windows (gui & 2D graphics programming)

game programming : 2D or 3D ? directX or OpenGL ? please be more accurate .

robotics, can't help you with that :(

hope this helps :)

Hi!