Sign in to follow this  
dawakeup

wartacs: looking for advice

Hello everybody! /* you can skip this if you are not interested in introduction */ I am new here so I guess I should introduce myself. My name is wakeup and I am an esports junkie from Germany. I like and have played a lot of computer games, at the moment I play UrbanTerror and Warcraft3:DotA mostly. I learned C as well as Common Lisp by reading (very nice) books, but I am still very new to programming. I program under linux using emacs and GNU tools, I care about portability. I am looking forward to program (olskool 2D) games with allegro (inspired by free lunch design) and I hope this is a good place to get help. Now to the real business :) I am planning on creating a two dimensional, top down team-shooter with a futuristic setting. (Maybe you played Crimson Land, this is what originally inspired me, but Counterstrike 2D comes closer). Also I plan on having players to choose from classes instead of weapons. I want to write in C. You can find everything I wrote related to this here: wartacs mercurial repository I think this is helpful for understanding what I am doing since I did some drawings you can look at. By the way, I am calling it 'wartacs' atm. Now I know that this is a rather big thing for a programming newbie like me, but well I am not in a hurry and dont know where else to start. What I already have: * I can parse map-files (text files) of my own syntax which gets me a linked list of "shapes" (a series of points(x,y-coordiates) plus a character to tell what type of shape it is (for example solid wall, floor, energy-barrier, ...) What comes next: * I planned on starting off with a tool called "wmapt" (wartacs map tool) which can then read a mapfile and output a map (in ascii, image, whatever) for human eyes to look at. * I figured that if a human can connect a sum of points and fill out the resulting shape, a computer can do it too. That's why I have chosen the map-format * next thing I need