Sign in to follow this  

What's next after C#?

This topic is 3117 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been learning C# for about month now, and everyone has been right about how easy it is to get going with it. However, I do want to understand lower-level ideas at some point and was wondering how low I should go with my next language. Is C still worth learning or will C++ be sufficient at this point? I know that it will probably be awhile before I jump into something new but I like to have an idea about where I'm going. To add some background, I am an Accounting and Finance double major and program for fun on the side. However, programming well is really important to me and even though I'm a hobby programmer technically, I want to take it more seriously than that. This community has gotten me off to a good start by suggesting C# and I hope you all can give me some ideas about what's next.

I think that really understanding the "lower-level ideas" won't be dramatically helped just by learning a language like C or C++. The real low-level ideas that can't be used by a language like C# are things like cache misses, aligning instructions to run in modern processors' multiple pipelines, SIMD optimizations, etc. To take advantage of those, you'll probably end up going through your code after it's already been compiled to assembler.