Sign in to follow this  
essell2

Getting into LUA scripting, as an industry-experienced level designer

Hi there everyone, have just signed up to this place, so I'm new :) I'm an industry-experienced level designer, wanting to teach myself to use LUA to improve my CV. How would you suggest I go about doing this, in terms of software / tools / coding environments to use, etc? A friend of mine has suggested Love, which looks interesting and appropriate: http://love2d.org/home But I wonder how relevent it is to the kind of LUA scripting that might be used in big AAA game development. Any ideas / suggestions / advice?

Hello,
LOVE is 2D game engine based on lua, it might be useful to get some basics of the language, but I think you will use your own engine for your own games.
I suggest you reading this book http://www.lua.org/pil/ . It explains every aspect of the language and there is a part at the end, which teaches you how to bind the interpreter with your own C/C++ application.
I think you should study that book and then, when you can write some scripts, you can play with LOVE to get more experience.
You might also get basic interpreter from http://www.lua.org/download.html for learning purposes.

Thanks for the quick reply :)

One thing I should probably have said is that I'm really set on making the most progress I can in as short a time as possible here. Ideally I'd hope for an approach that will bring some form of tangible results from my experimentation as soon as possible.

An example of what I mean is Processing (http://processing.org/), which I've very recently started playing around with to become familar with the basic principles of coding. It's designed very-specifically for small experiments that can be picked up by newcomers quickly, and if there's anything remotely similar for LUA, I think that would be exactly what I'm after here.