Sign in to follow this  

Map with vectors in it

This topic is 3108 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all, I've never used maps before and I'm trying to make a map that holds an int/vector combo. All the tutorials I can find are a bit confusing to me. This line is causing an error and I can't figure out why. animations.insert(pair<int, vector<SDL_Rect> >(direction, frames)); I'm not even sure what pair is... I googled it and read some on it but didn't quite understand what it did. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Error is: Line Location stl_pair.h:90: error: no matching function for call to 'std::vector<int, std::allocator<int> >::vector(const std::vector<SDL_Rect, std::allocator<SDL_Rect> >&)' What I'm doing is trying to come up with a way to handle sprite sheets. I was thinking I'd use a map where the first value could be enumerated directions such as up, down, left, right, standing, etc, and the value that would go with it would be a vector of frames pertaining to the direction the sprite will be moving that could be looped through as needed. Is this even a good idea?

Quote:
Original post by Jaqen
I'm not even sure what pair is
It's one of the simplest complex types you'll ever meet: a tuple of size 2. Basically it holds two (a pair) of values called first and second (the names of the member variables), the types of the two variables are those types that you used as the template arguments.

Quote:
Is this even a good idea?
It's not a bad idea, naturally I don't know enough about your application to know whether it's in any way optimal.

Quote:
direction is an enumeration (int, right?) and frames is a vector<SDL_Rect>.

Well an enum type is not equivalent to the int type, using an int as the map key will work though because by default an enum is implicitly convertible to an int.