Im new to this and i wanted to ask some general questions, thanx :)

Started by
10 comments, last by SyNtH002 22 years, 9 months ago
Hey, im new to programming i have made a game in Dark Basic before but i know that doesnt count for much. I just wanted to say hi to everyone on the forum and also get me head clear. I am have Borland c++ and i want to learn programming using it, i wanted to know if its a good choice and your opinons of it. Although i havent really used it yet i will start now as i am going to be doing a programming course in collage, well programming related and i may very well return here sonn with some code problems ect, sorry i can be a bit anoying* in the questions way. Well thats it hello to all the forum. Thanx, SyNtH002®.
SyNtH002®
Advertisement
Hi. Welcome to the darkside

Well, if you are asking if you should use Borland... I learned c++ with borland and liked it. However, I''ve switched to M$VC++ for windows stuff, and I like it a little better. The one thing you should think about first, is that it seems most sdk, tutorials, and books are written for M$VC++, and don''t always work as well with borland.
It''s really a personal choice as far as that goes.
My choice was to use M$VC++ because of the tutorials and that somebody bought it for me

--Drakonite

[Insert Witty Signature Here]
Shoot Pixels Not People
Thanks for your input. As i am a newbie i do not know what an sdk is what it does and what it is used for, i wish to make programs like 2d graphics then later more on to 3d what do i need to do this?

Thanx a load SyNtH002®.
SyNtH002®
An SDK is a Software Devlopment Kit - a bunch of files that let you develop software using some particular code basically. They include stuff like header files, pre compiled libraries, you might even get some help using that interface too.

The main SDK people talk about is the DirectX SDK, currently at somewhere around version 8 if I''m not mistaken.