Sign in to follow this  
deadstar

Two announcements, and a big thanks to everyone here!

Hi all, Yesterday, I received my final year University result - a First class honours in Computer & Video Games! Today, I was offered the role of Junior Programmer at Travellers Tales! I owe a lot to this community, so I would like to offer my thanks to every single member here. I've been using the vast collection of resources and help from the users here to create my engine and games over the past 3 years - a learning experience like no other - and finally it's all paid off. I've done it, guys! I've done it! I'm a computer games programmer! I would be happy to offer, in return, a run-down of my experiences during the test/interview stages, and a list of the kind of things they were expecting me to know before they would consider me, in the hope that someone else would find the information useful. But first, I'm off to celebrate with an ice-cold can of lager and a film!

Congrats :) I would like to know what kind of things they were expecting from you before they considered you.

Quote:
Original post by dmatter
Was this at The University of Manchester?

University of Salford.

Quote:
Original post by ViLiO
Is that TT Knutsford or TT Fusion in Wilmslow?

Knutsford, although 3 of my Uni friends recently got QA/Testing jobs at Fusion.

So, here's a few hints I can offer:

- Make sure your CV includes a 'skillset' list, on the first page. He seemed to enjoy jotting stuff down on the list, asking me questions about each skill.

- Make an online portfolio. Mine was unfortunately down for maintenence at the time, but the job agency were pretty keen for me to get it back up and running ASAP, and were very certain having ANYTHING to show before hand would have helped, however small. Eventually, all I could offer was a trailer video for an upcoming Xbox Community Games release, but it's better than nothing.