Sign in to follow this  
Keigi

Environment artist

Keigi    100
Hi, I have been looking to get into game design and I'm interested in starting a career as a environment artist. I'm a senior in engineering school, but would like to see what it takes to become and Environment artist. I enjoy designing levels and models using programs and editors. That's the idea I have of what an Environment artist is, someone who creates environments in a virtual world; is this correct? I've mainly used engineering programs, but have really enjoyed creating things in them. For example in Solidworks I've created a C-47 fuselage. The only other thing I can think of that comes close to something a company would look for is programing; all I know is Fortran... I plan on learning C++, and brush up on web programing a bit over this year. I have started to work on a few mod teams for a game called "Neverwinter Nights" to get a good idea of what making a game is like. Since I'm a new area builder my first assignment was writing some lore for the game; which I don't have an issue with. So I would like to know what it takes to become a Environment artist for a company? What types of programs should I learn? Do I need to learn any programming languages? Any help is welcomed, Keigi

zer0wolf    1022
Designing levels is performed by a level designer. Creating art assets to populate said world is performed by an environment artist. Level designers block out, script, and populate a level with artwork created by an environment artist. Sometimes the environment artist will instead be loading up the level created by the level designer and do the placing of the artwork based on the gray boxing performed by the level designer. Different companies handle this a little differently. What it boils down to though is level designers design the gameplay experience and the environment artists bring that experience to life aesthetically.