Sign in to follow this  
pseudobot

SDL_gfx - rotozoomSurface problems

Hello all, [smile] I just got SDL_gfx working. The sole reason I downloaded it was so that I have a function for rotating an SDL_Surface [at runtime]. However, rotozoomSurface seems to have one problem: when I rotate a surface, the whole surface "moves" instead of only rotating in the centre. I am using the following code for rotation:
cursorSurface = rotozoomSurface(cursorSurface, 10, 1.0, 1);
Anyone know how to fix this problem? Sorry if this is a silly/obvious question, but then again I am new to SDL_gfx. Btw, is it just me or is the documentation serisouly lacking? I didn't find a single mention of this problem anywhere in the docs... Thanks in advance for any help you offer!

The problem here is that you are "overwriting" the the original surface with the modified surface. Create a separate surface to store the result of the rotozoom operation:

SDL_Surface *extraSurface;

extraSurface = rotozoomSurface(originalSurface, <parameters>);

But, IIRC, rotozoom creates a new surface. It's a good idea to check it out before calling this every loop.

If the docs aren't as good as you want, you might want to check the code, it isn't that big anyway.

Edit: The documentation explicitely says rotozoomSurface creates a new texture, so it's better if you create all the surfaces you need before using them, or at least remeber to call SDL_FreeSurface before reapplying the procedure.

Edit2: Note also: Whenever you rotate the texture, the size of the surface changes. SDL_Surfaces are stored as quads. If you rotate them, their size will grow to accomodade the new one, much like this:

Original After rotation

| | | / \ |
| | | / \|
*-------* | \ / |
*--\/--*

(The above "drawing" is, roughly, horrible. But I hope you get the idea)
You have to take this into account if you want your rotated surface to be in the same place as the original was.

[Edited by - fcoelho on June 24, 2009 11:29:12 AM]