Sign in to follow this  
zand3r

3D Engine choice?

Hi All, I'm new to GD.net. Been trying to find out which 3D Engine is better. I use C++,C#,Java and Perl alot. More fluent in C++ and C#. The two engines im looking @ purchasing, but cannot make up my mind on are 1. The torque game engine advanced www.garagegames.com 2. Visual3D www.visual3d.net One con of Visual3D is it's Windows only. But most of the people in my country are Windows based, so its not a serious issue. Please can you assist me with choosing an engine. At the moment I am using Panda3D which is a great engine, but I am not extremely fluent in python. Thanks In advance.

Yes, i know you can use panda with cpp. One of the other reasons of moving to either torque or visual3d is it has audio and networking support builtin. I don't want to have to write a whole networking system from scratch. I could use a free networking library, but it seems better to use a system that already includes networking.

You could check out these engines:
3D Gamestudio - Windows only, a bit old but excellent for beginning and easy to learn, it also has a free version called Lite-c, but the free version lacks networking.
Irrlicht - open-source. From the popular open-source engines Irrlicht is from easier ones to learn, if it is compared to OGRE3D which is a graphical engine. No networking libraries. C++.
I don't know exactly but there is an engine called kjAPI. Also free and I think it has networking libraries. But I'm not sure, I saw it a long time ago.
And here you can find networking libraries and other free stuff:
http://www.twilightsembrace.com/personal/gamelibs.php

Quote:
Original post by zand3r
Yes, i know you can use panda with cpp. One of the other reasons of moving to either torque or visual3d is it has audio and networking support builtin. I don't want to have to write a whole networking system from scratch. I could use a free networking library, but it seems better to use a system that already includes networking.