Sign in to follow this  
jimslob

C++ help please

I'm a new C++ student, and I feel retarded. Doing an assignment for class and when i try rebuilding i'm getting syntax error 2059 'constant'. I was doing the rebuilding because I was told it is a good way to check your work. Any help I could get would be much appreciated. Here's what I have so far: //specification: this program calculates the price of pens based on the amount ordered //specification: find errors in this program #include "stdafx.h" #include <iostream> using namespace std; namespace pen { 1 to 50 pen * .50 each 51 to 100pen * .48 each 101 to 499pen * .45 each 500+pen * .42 each; } int main() { //ask the user how many pens they would like to order cout << endl << "How many pens would you like to order?\n"; cin >> myPens; cout << endl << }

Quote:
Original post by jimslob

namespace pen {
1 to 50 pen * .50 each
51 to 100pen * .48 each
101 to 499pen * .45 each
500+pen * .42 each;
}

That's not valid C++. Looks more like it's part of the problem description.

Ok ... first of all like WanMaster said the stuff that you are doing in the Pen namespace is not valid in C++.
Other errors : the myPens variable is not declared anywhere.
This line will not compile : cout << endl << .
main() needs to return a value.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
int myPens = 0;
double price = 0;

cout <<"How many pens would you like to order : ";
cin >> myPens;

if(myPens <= 0)
price = 0;

else if(myPens >= 1 && myPens <= 50)
price = myPens * 0.50;

else if(myPens >= 51 && myPens <= 100)
price = myPens * 0.48;

else if(myPens >= 101 && myPens <= 499)
price = myPens * 0.45;

else
price = myPens * 0.42;

cout << endl << "The total price is : " << price << endl;

return 0;
}

Quote:
Original post by WanMaster
Quote:
Original post by jimslob

namespace pen {
1 to 50 pen * .50 each
51 to 100pen * .48 each
101 to 499pen * .45 each
500+pen * .42 each;
}