SDL_Rect collision detection

Started by
8 comments, last by JoeMagoe 14 years, 9 months ago
I'm new to SDL and I'm trying to create a brick break game where the user breaks blocks with a ball. The user can hit the ball with with paddle that moves at the bottom of the screen. Right now it seems that the collision detection is not working with the paddle or the first block that I added in. Basically, the collision box appears where the paddle is, but does not move with the paddle. It just stays invisible where the paddle first appears on the screen and the ball still bounces off of the invisible paddle rect, but not the paddle itself Then the collision box for the block is appearing below the block and in the block. I've been working at this for days and I'm not sure why my collision isn't working. Any help would be greatly appreciated. //The headers #include "SDL/SDL.h" #include "SDL/SDL_image.h" #include <string> #include <vector> #include <cmath> //The screen attributes const int SCREEN_WIDTH = 800; const int SCREEN_HEIGHT = 600; const int SCREEN_BPP = 32; //The frame rate const int FRAMES_PER_SECOND = 20; ////The dimensions of the dot //const int DOT_WIDTH = 20; //const int DOT_HEIGHT = 20; // ////The dimensions of the paddle //const int PADDLE_WIDTH = 112; //const int PADDLE_HEIGHT = 20; //The surfaces SDL_Surface *dot = NULL; SDL_Surface *paddle = NULL; SDL_Surface *screen = NULL; SDL_Surface *background = NULL; SDL_Surface *block1_image = NULL; //The event structure SDL_Event event; //Create objects SDL_Rect ball; SDL_Rect box; SDL_Rect block1; //The dot that will move around on the screen class Dot { private: //The area of the dot SDL_Rect ball; //The velocity of the dot int xVel, yVel; public: //Initializes the variables Dot(); //Moves the dot void move(); //Shows the dot on the screen void show(); }; //The paddle that will move around on the screen class Paddle { private: //The collision box of the square SDL_Rect box; //The velocity of the paddle int xVel,