Sign in to follow this  
MMOGames

Understanding the big picture of MMO technology

Hi All SO I'm not a programmer, but I do have an interested in MMO Games that are low in demand for processing power and limited in their 3d complexety. This thread is to discuss the big picture elements in MMO. I'm looking for an individual that has th expertise to explain these components as I would be looking to have a framework built. If you are interested I would like to discuss what are the basic principals of a MMO Games.

I'm a bit confused. The only big principle I know of for MMOs that set them a part is the first 'M', meaning Massive(ly).

So I guess, a network system that can handle a very large amount of connections.

The complexity of the 3d will never have an impact on the performance of the servers. And the client-side application follows the same set of requirements that it would for a single player game, apart from the bandwidth requirements.

When it comes to the performance of the server-side application(s), it depends greatly on the complexity of the game design. So if you want an MMO architecture that's low on resources, you'll most likely have to design your game based on that.

There are off course tricks one could do to increase the performance server-side more or less regardless of the game design, such as distributing the game servers across several physical machines.

I was curious about this as well. In making an MMO, do you prioritize on minimizing the amount of data a server must hold, or decreasing the pressure on a host computer? How does one stream every character's position, action, etc?

This may be over simplifying it.... Visually I would think of an MMO like this:

Database
|
Sever Side Code
|
network
|
Client side

There are distinct layers (or tiers). And there could be more layers within the "server side code" layer, etc.