[java] Adding a map or tiles?

Started by
0 comments, last by Omega147 14 years, 8 months ago
Hi im new to programming in java and basically i am trying to add a map or tiles to my game... As of now all I have is a moving sprite, I want to add tiles but I have no idea how... Could someone help me? [Edited by - yhsa2nd on August 13, 2009 2:47:34 PM]
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by yhsa2nd
Hi im new to programming in java and basically i am trying to add a map or tiles to my game... As of now all I have is a moving sprite, I want to add tiles but I have no idea how... Could someone help me?

Drawing tiles isn't much different from drawing your moving sprite. Only a matter of scale, really. I'll present one of many basic approaches below to get you thinking and on your way, but keep in mind that this naive solution is somewhat flawed in several respects. It is only the idea I wish to convey.

Imagine the world that your sprite/avatar is walking on as one giant image with a large 2D grid overlaid on top of it. Also imagine that the avatar is sitting at coordinates (0, 0) of this world, which we will say is the bottom-left corner of the map--with this setup, there will be no negative numbers in the coordinates, only positive. Assume the world's boundaries are at 1024 pixels in either direction, for a total map size of 2048x2048. Each square or tile section of the map, we'll say, is 32x32 pixels in size. Let's also say that only 640x480 pixels of the entire map are visible at any given time--this is our viewport into the world. For these purposes, we'll say the viewport is always centered on the avatar, which means that the avatar stays in one place on the screen and that the world moves around it. To achieve this, we will require both a local and a global/world position for our sprite; the local position is where the sprite is displayed (i.e. the center of the screen) and the global position is where the avatar is at on the world map.